Thursday, November 02, 2006


Alberta is one of Canada's provinces. It became a province on September 1, 1905.

Alberta is located in western Canada. It is bounded by the provinces of British Columbia on the west and Saskatchewan on the east, Northwest Territories on the north, and by the U.S. State of Montana on the south.

Alberta is one of two provinces (the other being New Brunswick) to border a single U.S. state.

The capital city of Alberta is Edmonton, located just south of the centre of the province. Calgary is a major distribution and transportation hub as well as being one of Canada's major commerce centers.

Edmonton is the primary supply and service hub for Canada's oil sands and other northern resource industries.

According to recent population estimates, these two metropolitan areas have now both exceeded 1 million people, Calgary being slightly more populous than Edmonton.

Other major but much smaller municipalities include Red Deer, Lethbridge, Medicine Hat, Fort McMurray, Grande Prairie, Camrose, Lloydminster, Wetaskiwin, Banff, and Jasper.

Flower: Wild rose
Tree: Lodgepole Pine
Bird: Great Horned Owl
Capital: Edmonton
Largest city: Calgary
Motto: Strong and Free
Flag :